Basic information on Slovenia

Population: 2,055,000

Position: Slovenia is in central Europe.

Area: 20,273 km2

Government: Slovenia is a democratic republic founded on the principle of the separation of powers of the legislative, executive and judicial branches of authority.

Capital city: Ljubljana, population: 280,000

Membership of international organisations: Slovenia has been a member of the European Union since 1 May 2004 and a member of NATO since 7 April 2004. It is also a member of many other international organisations.

Official language: Slovene; also Hungarian and Italian in their respective ethnically mixed areas.

Religion: The majority of the population is Roman Catholic; Slovenia also has 40 other officially registered religious communities.

Currency: euro (EUR), since 1 January 2007.

Climate: Alpine, Pannonian, Mediterranean

Time: Central European Time (UTC + 1), Central European Summer Time (UTC + 2)

Average temperatures: July 21°C, January 0°C

Electricity supply: 230 V

Units of measurement: metric – metres, kilometres, grams, kilograms. Temperatures are expressed in degrees Celsius.

Length of borders: with Austria 330 km, with Italy 280 km, with Hungary 102 km and with Croatia 670 km; total 1,382 km

Length of coastline: 46.6 km

Highest peak: Triglav, 2,864 m

Border formalities

Slovenia is in the Schengen Zone, meaning that at the border crossings with Italy, Austria and Hungary there are generally no controls. To enter Slovenia from Croatia, a passport or ID is sufficient if your visit will not last more than three months.


If you need a visa to enter Slovenia, you can obtain one from the Slovenian embassy or consular office in your country. If there is no Slovenian consular office in your country, you can apply to the consular representatives of any Member State of the Schengen Zone. All Schengen countries issue Schengen visas under the same conditions, taking into account the interests of the other Member States. A visa issued by one Schengen state is valid for all other states in the Zone. In other words this means that you can visit multiple countries within the Schengen Zone.

Since the information on visa requirements to enter Slovenia can change, it is best to enquire at your country’s foreign ministry before leaving, or you can also check the situation at theSlovenian foreign ministry, where information is provided in English. And remember that when your visa is approved your passport must be valid for at least another six months.

Bringing in items and cash

Within the European Union there is free flow of goods, meaning that you can bring into Slovenia any kind of items for personal use. The exceptions to this are tobacco products and alcoholic beverages, for which there are restrictions. These are even stricter for those who live outside the European Union. There are also restrictions on bringing in cash from outside the EU.

Restrictions on tobacco products and alcoholic beverages

For EU citizens

You can bring into Slovenia a maximum of 800 cigarettes or 200 cigars, or 1 kilogram of smoking tobacco. You can carry a maximum of 10 litres of spirits or drinks with an alcoholic content over 22 percent, or 20 litres of alcoholic beverages with less than 22 percent alcohol.

For other citizens 

Anyone over 17 years old can bring into Slovenia a maximum of 200 cigarettes or 50 cigars, or 250 grams of smoking tobacco. You can carry a maximum of 1 litre of spirits or drinks with an alcoholic content over 22 percent, or 2 litres of alcoholic beverages with less than 22 percent alcohol.

Restrictions on cash

There are no restrictions on the amount of cash that European Union citizens can bring into Slovenia, but citizens of other countries may only bring in a maximum of 10,000 euros in cash. Larger amounts must be declared to customs officials.